top of page

Hispanic Heritage Month

Hispanic Heritage Month takes place September 15 to October 15 every year as a time to recognize and celebrate the many achievements, contributions and history of the Hispanic American community. In 1968, the observation of Hispanic Heritage began under President Lyndon B. Johnson.

Hispanic Heritage Month celebrates the independence of several Latin American countries, including Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Mexico, and Chile. Celebrating this month gives us the opportunity to support, appreciate and educate through a host of activities – such as art shows, community gatherings, festivals, food and so much more.

Resources & Ideas: Educational



  • Selena (Peacock)

  • Selena: The Series (Netflix)

  • Coco (Disney+)

  • The Book of Life (Disney+)

  • Stand and Deliver (Amazon Prime)

  • Street Food: Latin America (Netflix)



bottom of page